Science versus Literature: The Great Divide?

As an eager writer and scientist, I’ve regularly been frustrated by the lack of cohesion and understanding between the two fields of study. I can’t count the number of times I’ve heard the phrase ‘English is a pointless subject!’ from my fellow physicists, or ‘Ugh, why Physics!?’ from a peer English student. Certainly, I’ve been given many strange looks for taking both subjects together to A level.

In this blog I’d like to explore the links between Physics and Literature, and discuss how ideas first suggested in novels and plays have posed new questions to scientists, and have inspired inventions which have had a permanent impact on our society and changed the face of our planet.

Leave a Reply

